Top Five: From the 90’s

Though I was born in the 90’s I technically wasn’t old enough to watch a number of the shows and movies that came out during the decade. Still, as you can imagine I was drawn to the era and have reveled in the media it has produced since. With my birthday coming up, I couldn’t resist a walk down memory lane.

MOVIES

1. Aladdin (1992)
Yes there were a number of Disney movie options to choose from in the 90’s but who didn’t love the original rags to riches story of a pauper turned prince aided by a flying carpet and three wishes? Dope soundtrack, Jafar was the perfect unrepentant villain and Robin William’s Genie is iconic. How many of you aren’t humming A Whole New World in your head right now?

2.The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
I had no idea what I was walking into the first time I saw this movie and it has stuck with me ever since and still manages to upset me during every re-watch. Probably my favourite prison based movie filled with layers, perfectly developed characters and uses the progression of time artfully. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman make the most unlikely, yet perfect on screen buddies.

3. GoodFellas (1990)
Based on a true story turned into a movie in its own right. From that beautiful line in the opening to that three minute long take – this movie about gangsters in the 1970’s is a unique stamp on the genre. Ray Liotta, Robert De Niro and Martin Scorsese are a match made in movie heaven. Don’t think because you’ve seen The Godfather Part I and II you’ve seen it all. You haven’t. Watch GoodFellas.

4. You’ve Got Mail (1998)
I love a Meg Ryan movie and You’ve Got Mail is at the top of the list even over her more classic role in, When Harry Met Sally. You can’t go wrong with this movie – it’s funny, romantic and it’s set in a bookshop – and of course watching it in this day and age of Snap Tweeters and Pinstargram, it’s weird to watch characters get so excited over rushing home to check their email. Oh how times have ‘a changed.

5. Sister Act (1992)
There is a well loved VHS copy of this movie in my house and I refuse to throw away such a treasure. A lounge singer that hides out in a covenant amongst nuns to escape a couple of Las Vegas thugs? I dare you tell me what there is to hate. It’s such a random concept that hits the mark in humor and the age of the nineties shines bright. Did I mention it stars Whoopi Goldberg? It would be a crime never to have seen this movie. A crime.


TELEVISION

1. My So Called Life (1994-1995)
The epitome of teen angst. Typical 90’s teen Angela wants to reinvent herself, no longer satisfied with her predictable brown haired life and pining for bad boy Jordan Catalano from afar. It’s everything you would expect but this nine episode cult classic plays up to the stereotype of boys, drugs and sex so well it might as well be brand new.
And yes, yes that is Homeland’s Claire Danes and 30 Seconds To Mars Jared Leto.

2. Boy Meets World (1993-2000)
Mate. If you want character progression, storylines that don’t shirk away from the harsh realities of life and a friendship to envy then this is the show for you. Over seven seasons we watch Cory Matthews learn and grow, and we grow with him. This is just one of those shows you have to watch to understand the depth of love audiences have for it.

3. Diagnosis: Murder (1993-2001)
Don’t look at me like that, I know this is a bit of a strange one but guys it’s Dick Van Dyke – toe tapping, Mary Poppins, Dick Van Dyke – and his on screen son is his real son! There are so many medical shows and detective shows out there, but I ask you this; how many of them combine the two and can pull it off with an a much loved older actor and a catchy theme song?

4. Party of Five (1994-2000)
When the Salinger’s parents die in a car crash, the five siblings have to navigate life without parental figures. You must be sick of me talking about this show, but just think of it as a tribute to just how great it is. If you haven’t given the show a chance based on my harping alone then I suggest you drop everything and do so before the reboot comes out so you can stand with me and say; ‘The original was better‘.

5. The Queen’s Nose (1995-2003)
A British classic about a magical fifty pence that grants wishes. I stopped watching when original protagonist Melody Parker left after the third series (1998). Let’s face it, Melody and her sister Harmony are the ones most of us remember anyways – well that and fond memories of rubbing the nose of every fifty pence piece that came our way in hopes of receiving ten wishes.
So there you have it. My Top Five that were born in the nineties.

These are my Top Five – What are yours?

TWITTER: JUSTJEN_02

2 thoughts on “Top Five: From the 90’s

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑